Forest Whitaker

Artist and CEO Marseille 2021

When you think of Forest Whitaker, the diversity of films that come to mind is as awe-inspiring as the stature of the actor.

We are honored to receive him at the opening of our next Napoleons summit from May 26 to 28 in Marseille to talk about Emancipation, a theme he embodies both through his career and his action. The 59-year-old American actor, producer and director has shot 126 series and films and won eight Awards. He is also committed to the fight for equal opportunities and inclusion, for a more sustainable and ethical world.

His 38-year career in cinema sheds light on a polymorphous and committed filmography. Action film or dramatic comedy, the same passion for portraying its characters resides in Forest. In 2007 in “The Last King of Scotland”, he played dictator Idi Amin Dada, bloodthirsty ruler of one of the most terrifying African regimes in Uganda. A breathtaking performance that earned him the Oscar for Best Actor and the Golden Globe for Best Actor in a Dramatic Film. In 2013, he passed in front of the camera of the French director Jérôme Salle where he played a police officer in charge of chasing the murderer of a young teenage girl, in a South Africa still haunted by Apartheid. That same year, he also played the role of Cecil Gaines, “The Butler”. This story of the black butler who worked in the White House in the service of eight Presidents of the United States is part of a collective history that is also that of Forest and his family. The character he embodies is the common thread of a film that makes us relive racial segregation, the birth of the civil rights movement and, in apotheosis, the election of the first African-American President: Barack Obama, whom we have also had the honor to host at the Napoleons!

But the commitment that Forest expresses in his work is not just fiction: in 2012, his foundation WPDI (Whitaker Peace & Development Initiative) was born! Its vocation is to support young people caught up in conflicts and violent contexts to make them the actors of peace and development that their environment needs to regain hope and resilience. According to him, the ability of a human community to regenerate depends on the mobilization of its living forces, especially its youth, to whom we must give resources for action, the first of which is trust. Involving hundreds of thousands of people facing contexts of vulnerability in sub-Saharan Africa and North America, WPDI gives young people as well as women the leading role in mediation processes, training in conflict resolution in schools or in the creation of businesses.

In 2014, WPDI received the “So the World May Hear” award in recognition of the work accomplished. During the Covid-19 health crisis, WPDI distinguished itself through information campaigns, in particular in Mexico, South Africa, South Sudan, Uganda but also in the United States, in areas heavily impacted by the disease. crisis.

Forest’s commitment won over BNP Paribas, which embarked on the adventure by supporting WPDI on several high-impact programs in South Africa and the United States. Finally, because commitment is not just a question of words, we, the Napoleons, are launching a call for contributions for WPDI in order to all together be agents of change.

share this
Oops!

You need to be logged in to continue!
Sign in to access the profiles and contact whoever you want:

Forgot your password
Request new password

A new random password will be generated and sent to you by email.

Back to log in

Or be part of the Academy asking yourmembership:

Forest Whitaker

Artiste et Président
Whitaker Peace & Development Initiative
Marseille 2021

Quand on pense à Forest Whitaker, la diversité de films qui s’imposent à l’esprit est aussi impressionnante que la stature de celui qui les porte.

Nous avons l’honneur de le recevoir en ouverture de notre prochain sommet des Napoleons du 26 au 28 mai à Marseille sur le thème de l’Emancipation qu’il incarne tant par son parcours que par son action. Cet immense acteur, producteur et réalisateur américain de 59 ans a tourné 126 séries et films et s’est vu décerner huit Prix. Il a également à cœur la lutte pour l’égalité des chances et l’inclusion, pour un monde plus durable et plus éthique.

Ses 38 ans de carrière au cinéma mettent en lumière une filmographie polymorphe et engagée. Film d’action ou comédie dramatique, une même passion d’incarner ses personnages habite Forest. En 2007 dans « le Dernier roi d’Ecosse »,il interprète le dictateur Idi Amin Dada, souverain sanguinaire d’un des plus terrifiants régimes africain en Ouganda. Une performance époustouflante qui lui vaut l’Oscar du Meilleur acteur et le Golden Globe du meilleur acteur dans un film dramatique. En 2013, il passe devant la caméra du français Jérôme Salle où il incarne un policier chargé de pourchasser le meurtrier d’une jeune adolescente, dans une Afrique du Sud encore hantée par l’Apartheid. Cette même année, c’est dans la peau de Cecil Gaines, « Le Majordome », qu’il apparaît. L’histoire du majordome noir qui travailla à la Maison Blanche au service de huit Présidents des États-Unis est un pan d’une histoire collective qui est aussi celle de Forest et de sa famille. Le personnage qu’il incarne est le fil conducteur d’un film qui nous fait revivre la ségrégation raciale, la naissance du mouvement des droits civiques et, en apothéose, l’élection du premier Président Afro-américain : Barack Obama, que nous avons également eu la chance de recevoir aux Napoleons !

Mais l’engagement que Forest exprime dans son œuvre n’est pas que de fiction : en 2012, sa fondation WPDI (Whitaker Peace & Development Initative) voit le jour ! Elle a pour vocation de soutenir les jeunes pris dans des conflits et des contextes violents pour en faire les acteurs de la paix et du développement dont leur environnement a besoin pour regagner espoir et résilience. Selon lui, la capacité d’une communauté humaine à se régénérer dépend de la mobilisation de ses forces vives, notamment sa jeunesse, à qui il faut donner des ressources pour l’action, dont la première est la confiance. Impliquant des centaines de milliers de personnes confrontées à des contextes de vulnérabilité en Afrique sub-saharienne et en Amérique du nord, WPDI donne à des jeunes ainsi que des femmes le premier rôle dans des processus de médiation, des formations à la résolution des conflits dans les écoles ou dans la création d’entreprises.

En 2014, WPDI a reçu le prix « So the World May Hear » en reconnaissance du travail accompli. Pendant la crise sanitaire du covid-19, WPDI s’est distinguée par des campagnes d’information notamment au Mexique, en Afrique du Sud, au Soudan du Sud, en Ouganda mais également aux États-Unis, dans les zones fortement impactées par la crise.

L’engagement de Forest a séduit BNP Paribas qui s’est lancée dans l’aventure en accompagnant WPDI sur plusieurs programmes à fort impact en Afrique du Sud et aux Etats-Unis. Enfin, parce que l’engagement n’est pas qu’une question de mots, nous lançons, aux Napoleons, un appel à contributions pour WPDI afin d’être tous ensemble acteurs du changement.

Partagez ce contenu
Oups!

Vos devez être connecté pour continuer
Connectez-vous pour accéder aux profils de nos Académiciens et pour les contacter

Mot de passe oublié
Demander un nouveau mot de passe

Un nouveau mot de passe sera généré de manière aléatoire pour vous, puis envoyé vers votre boîte email.

Retour au formulaire de connexion

Ou rejoignez l'Academie :